The Dark side review
sgiacci
Posted 2011-04-19 11:34 PM (#84361)
Subject: The Dark side review

Tourer

Let’s cut though the BS opinions and talk about an honest assessment.  So if you are going to comment then comment on what is a factual review, not what you think or feel, or heard.  I’m sick of hearing about “experienced” riders who pontificate about the dangers, instability, and risks there are in using a car tire when they have never ridden on one. IMHO they are full of crap. Also, screw the reasons why I would want a car tire, because it really is none of your damn business.

I reached a point here of the meaningless banter that I finally just got POed enough to go and mount a car tire, and give it a try.  I have been riding for 35+ years now, and that alone should give me a little credibility.  I have also owned and ridden many different types of bikes, so I have a good understanding of what different bikes do.

Here is my initial review (400mi):

2008 Vision setup - 36psi in the tire, 30 psi in the shock riding 1 up, and 40 psi in the shock riding 2 up.  1 up load is about 220#. 2 up touring is about 460#.  All comments will be compared to the old Dunlop that came with the Vision.

1 up riding is where I see the biggest difference.

Riding straight the road surface is much more noticeable.  Road camber pushes the bike to one side or the other, and you need to compensate for it.  Road grooves, cuts, expansion joints become those slots that your little slot cars needed to stay on the track, and again you need to compensate. Steel bridges also like to pull the rear tire long their grating.  Gravel and sand are a different story.  Instead of the tire plowing into the gravel or sand it rides up on top of it and feels amazingly controlled.  Pulling my bike in and out of my garage onto the gravel driveway has gotten much easier.